telia pebble

How is the MVP chosen?

Monday, May 13, 2019

MVPs so far

MVP is an abbreviation of "Most Valuable Player". In the studio matches of Telia Esports Series the studio-hosts nominate the best player of the match as a MVP. But what are the criteria?

So far the MVPs have been Elias "Jamppi" Olkkonen (SJ Gaming), Jarkko "Spargo" Rahja (Helsinki REDS) and Lauri "Pietola" Hietala (KOVA Esports). What did they do to deserve the MVP nomination?

Jarkko "Spargo" Rahja was chosen as the second weeks MVP. He played his role as an AWP-player well, got plenty of entryfrags and few important clutches. That's the perfect receipt for someone who wants to be the MVP.

It always depends of the circumstances. Generally said, the nomination goes to the player who played the match best as a whole.

It's someone who played accordingly to his role. Someone who hits his nades and trades enemys frags. Often someone has one or more flashy highlights in the game. It doesn't necessarily mean he was the most valuable player of the game.

The nomination is an opinion and an estimate in the end. Counter-Strike is a team game and it's not always clear who is the the best player. Sometimes it's obvious sometimes it's not.



Esports Series is brought to you by Telia in association with Assembly